PEACE LUTHERAN CHURCH

APPROVED 2021 Annual Congregational Meeting

January 30, 2022

Welcome given by President Joseph Perez.

- **I.** Call to Order: Call to order at 10:36 a.m.
- **II. Opening Prayer**: Opening prayer lead by Pastor David Hanson
- **III. Open Forum**: Jake Jacobson asked for grace for wife, Judy, as she will be giving the financials with little notice due to Jeremy Baumann's illness.

IV. Adopt Agenda:

Motion to adopt Annual Meeting Agenda with changes. Bob Rieckenberg/John Weinzierl/No discussion/Carried.

V. Approve Congregational Meeting Minutes:

a. Approve 2020 Congregational Meeting Minutes held on Sunday, January 31, 2021

Motion to approve the congregational meeting minutes held on January 31, 2021. Marty Malmin/Adam Hanson/No discussion/Carried

b. Approve Special Congregation Meeting held on September 19, 2021

Motion to approve special congregation meeting held on September 19, 2021. Beth Seefelt/Duane Swensen/No discussion/Carried

VI. Nominating Committee Ballot Presentation Given by Bob Rieckenberg:

- a. Ministry Board Positions (3-Year Term) Vote for Two: Audrey Nickleby, Joseph Perez, Steve Rome, and Mike Rupp.
- b. Nominating Committee (2-Year Term) Vote for Three: Ruth Clark, Adam Hanson, Kristi, Mittelstaedt, Kelsie Simon, Melissa Stuntebeck and Laura Wendland.
- c. President (After Ministry Board Election Results)

VII. Reports

- a. Pastor's Report given by Pastor David Hanson: Well summarized in his sermon this morning.
- b. Director of Youth & Family Report given by Mark Nissen: Thanked congregation for personal support and support of the youth ministry.
- c. Ministry Board Report given by Joseph Perez: Recognized volunteers, with those stepping up, serving God despite challenges. Positive team unity at leadership workshop.

VIII. Recognition of Ministry Teams

- Altar Care Ministry Team Wendy Ely: Highlights of 2021.
- *Care Ministry Team* Mary Fritz Barfnecht: New team for 2021. Continue momentum into coming year.
- *Christian Education Ministry Team* Nichole Johnsrud: New curriculum that youth and instructors are both enjoying. VBS will be at end of June.
- Finance Ministry Team –Sue Beulke: Remarked about the generosity of our congregation.



- *Hospitality Ministry Team* Marty Malmin: Mission of team is welcoming and enjoying fellowship over treats and coffee. Special advertised activities throughout the year. February 20th will be the Chili cook off.
- *Mission Ministry Team* Ruth Clark: Eighth year as team coordinator. Thanked those who headed a mission. Involvement in local and global missions. February 26th will be annual missions service work day.
- *Nominating Team*-They were counting ballots so Joseph thanked committee. Calling to serve is not easy task. Joan Nesvold, Anne Holmquist, and Bob Reickenberg are completing 2-year terms.
- Outreach Ministry Team –
- *Property Ministry Team* John Weinzierl: Recognition of the property committee. Special projects include Jerry Berg providing lawn fertilization and mowing which is gifted; Chris Hanson and Tom Mittlestad providing snow plowing, which associated costs are gifted as well; John Lobitz, Jim Grosshuesch, Mark Weinzierl and Paul Nesvold providing sidewalk shoveling and snow blowing; Monday morning coffee crew providing facility cleaning; Stuart Foster donates the use of an ariel lift to change light bulbs in the sanctuary. All of these volunteer services save the church approximately \$20-\$30,000 per year.
- *Stewardship Ministry Team* Amy Peterson: Thanked team. Change is to look differently at giving, faith promises are important but is the God given talents of each person. Focus on talents and time as well.
- *Technology Ministry Team* Kevin Schroeder: Projectors and microphones coming soon to enhance in-house and online worship.
- *Worship & Music Ministry Team* Edie Hanson: Acknowledged team. Worship music is planned on the weekly readings, special events. Goal is to have blended music with traditional and contemporary music. Help is needed on the soundboard, sling and JAM.
- *Youth Activities Ministry Team* Mark for Jessica Baumann: Monthly events are being planned as well as Wednesday night youth groups. More youth are participating.
- **IX. Remembering Our Departed Members:** Hadley Joy Nissen, Charlie Van Pawelk and Sandra M. Schlueter were remembered. Moment of silence, offered prayer and remembering that grieving is a journey.

X. 2021 and 2022 Finance Review Presented by Judy Jacobson Financial Administrator.

- Audit Report of 2021 Financial Records Done by an independent agency, Jeanne Matter CPA, and found our books to be in order. Verified accurate.
- Review of 2021 Finance Report Judy reviewed income and expenses.
- Proposed 2022 Budget Judy discussed the 2022 budget.

Motion to approve 2022 Budget: Glen Hulley/Chuck Venske/No discussion/Carried

XI. New Business: None

XII. Nominating Committee Election Results Presented by Bob Rieckenberg

• Elected Nominating Committee Members for the 2022 year serving a 2-year term are: Adam Hanson, Kelsie Simon and Laura Wendland



- Elected Ministry Board Members for the 2022 year serving a 3-year term are: Joseph Perez and Mike Rupp
- 2022 Ministry Board President: Joseph Perez has agreed and accepted the 2022 Ministry Board President position.

Motion to destroy ballots: Bill Holmquist/Marty Malmin/No discussion/Carried

XIII. Thank You Past Ministry Board Members and Candidates

XIV. Adjournment: Closing statement from the president of the congregation, Joseph Perez.

Motion to adjourn Jon Peterson/Paul Nesvold/No discussion/Carried

Meeting Adjourned at 11:15 a.m.

XV. Closing Prayer: Closing Prayer by Pastor David Hanson.

